Skip to main content


The Maryland Senate voted Wednesday March 6, 2013 to make Maryland the 18th state to abolish the death penalty, putting Gov. Martin O'Malley one step closer to a significant legislative victory. The 27-20 vote sent the bill to the House of Delegates, where we believe we  have the backing to send the legislation to the governor. It is not over just yet. We anticipate that we will move over to the House of Delegates next week, and we still need to take action to urge legislators to support repeal! 

  1. TAKE ACTION TODAY! Send an email to your legislotors and thank them for suppporting repeal and urge them to support the Senate in abolishing the death penalty in Maryland. It is easy and it just takes a few minutes.
  2. SUPPORT THE CAMPAIGN! If you are unable to make an online donation, you can feel free to mail a check to our office located at: 3800A 34th Street, Mt. Rainier, MD 20712 or contact Peter Jones, Business Manager at 301-779-5230.


Please see the list of Senators who voted 'yes' and send them an email and thank them. *Senators listed in alphabetical order. Click on Senator's name and email them directly.* 

John Astle

Joanne Benson

Joan Carter Conway

Ulysses Currie

Ed Degrange

Bill Ferguson

Jennie Forehand

Brian Frosh

Lisa Gladden

Verna Jones-Rodwell

Delores Kelley

Nancy King

Allan Kittleman (R)

Rich Madaleno

Roger Manno

Nate McFadden

Karen Montgomery

Anthony Muse

Douglas J.J. Peters

Paul Pinsky

Catherine Pugh

Victor Ramirez

Jamie Raskin

Ed Reilly (R)

Jim Rosapepe

Ron Young

Bobby Zirkin